Opening classic welcomes all WorldTeams

10 February 2021

All 19 UCI WorldTeams will be present at the Belgian season opener with a traditional start in Ghent on 27 February. Among the 6 UCI ProTeams, Alpecin-Fenix and Team Arkéa-Samsic were already sure they could participate thanks to their ranking. The other wildcards went to French and Belgian teams that will help determine the race story on the road to Ninove.

Trek - Segafredo of Jasper Stuyven, last year's winner, will be looking for success again and will be up against, among others, Belgium's Deceuninck - Quick-Step, the team of former winner Stybar (2019) and 2020 runner-up Yves Lampaert, who already confirmed world champion Alaphilippe to be at the start. Lotto Soudal has a two-time former winner of the Omloop in its team with Philippe Gilbert, as does AG2R Citroën Team which welcomed Greg Van Avermaet, winner in 2016 and 2017. Bora-hansgrohe of Peter Sagan, UAE Team Emirates and Jumbo-Visma will also be present.  

Last year, Team DSM, the new team of Tiesj Benoot, got a place on the podium of Omloop Het Nieuwsblad with Soren Kragh Andersen. In their quest to do better this year, they will be up against Astana-Premier Tech, Bahrain Victorious, Cofidis, EF Education Nippo Groupama - FDJ, Ineos Grenadiers, Team Qhubeka Assos and Intermarché Wanty-Gobert Matérieaux which is racing as a WorldTeam for the first time.  

Alpecin-Fenix and Team Arkéa-Samsic were already sure of participation as number one and two in the ranking at the end of last season. This year the wildcards go to the French teams B&B Hotels P/B KTM and Total Direct Energie and to the Belgian teams Bingoal WB and Sport Vlaanderen - Baloise.  

27 February is getting closer and soon the successor to Jasper Stuyven will be crossing the finish line in Ninove. The names of the participants will be announced later.

Related news