Stybar is the smartest in a leading group of five

2 March 2019

Zdenek Stybar has won Omloop Het Nieuwsblad 2019. In the final there were five riders left: Stybar, Greg Van Avermaet, Tim Wellens, Alexey Lutsenko and Dylan Teuns. With an ultimate jump Stybar could shake off the other riders in the breakaway. He finished solo in Ninove.

During the race there were a lot of attacks, but we had to wait for the Molenberg for the favourites to show up again. Jumbo Visma, with Van Aert, made the race hard uphill. The peloton fell apart and a select group including Van Avermaet, Vanmarcke, Benoot and Lampaert could build up a limited lead. Vanmarcke had to let the others go on the Berendries and Benoot - literally - dropped out shortly afterwards. Six riders took advantage of this situation: Stybar, Van Avermaet, Lutsenko, Wellens, Teuns and Oss. After the Muur van Geraardsbergen Oss had to let go as well and they were left with five riders.

Van Avermaet attacked on the Bosberg, the last hill of the day, but he couldn’t make a gap. In the last ten kilometres both Van Avermaet and Wellens tried to jump away, but it was Stybar who could make the decisive attack with another three kilometres to go. Van Avermaet was still trying, but he was playing poker and nobody was at Stybar's wheel. He eventually crossed the finish line solo. Van Avermaet and Wellens followed on 2 and 3.


(c) Photonews

  • Photonews © Photonews
  • Photonews © Photonews

Related news