Big names challenge defending champion Stuyven in opening classic

19 February 2021

On February 27 the Belgian cycling season will kick off with Omloop Het Nieuwsblad. The provisional start list promises an exciting race between the start in Ghent and the finish in Ninove. Jasper Stuyven, last year's winner, will be up against a whole lot of top riders. And all of them are eager to win the first WorldTour race on European soil.

Find the start list here.

Trek-Segafredo was able to rejoice last year after a strong performance of Jasper Stuyven. He will be at the start again this year, accompanied by former world champion Mads Pedersen and his team mate Edward Theuns. Belgian team Deceuninck - Quick-Step just missed out on a win last year with Lampaert. They are aiming for more this year and are therefore bringing world champion Alaphilippe, Stybar (the 2019 winner) and Asgreen to the start alongside the 2020 runner-up.

That other Belgian UCI WorldTeam, Lotto Soudal, has already started the season well with Tim Wellens, the number three of 2019. He joins forces with two-time former winner Philippe Gilbert in the quest for success in the opening classic this year. AG2R Citro├źn Team, on the other hand, makes us look forward to the Naesen brothers. Since last winter they have been joined by reigning Olympic champion and two-time former winner Greg Van Avermaet. Sep Vanmarcke is another former winner on the provisional list. This year will be his first appearance in the colours of Israel Start-Up Nation.

Bahrain Victorious wants to make an impression on the Muur van Geraardsbergen with Teuns, Colbrelli and Haussler. At INEOS Grenadiers we are looking for cyclo-cross rider and e-mountain bike world champion Tom Pidcock. With Soren Kragh Andersen, Team DSM took the last spot on the podium last year. He will be joined in the quest for victory by newcomers Benoot and Bardet alongside the duo Haaghoek and Leberg. Victor Campenaerts will take Team Qhubeka Assos to the start in Ghent, while UAE Taem Emirates will put forward the Trentin - Kristoff duo.

Among the ProTeams, Niki Terpstra, second in 2015, will start for Total Direct Energie with his new teammate Boasson Hagen. In addition, the Belgian tricolour will also be seen in the opening classic. Belgian champion Dries De Bondt will be at the start together with his new teammates Meurisse and Dillier.

A nice provisional start list for Saturday 27 February during the Omloop Het Nieuwsblad. We'll find out who can raise his arms in the afternoon next week at the Onderwijslaan in Ninove.

Photo - (c) Photonews

Related news